wow
Friday, August 7, 2009, 9:41 PM
I actually have not seen a movie in about three weeks....that makes me sad ='[.
BUT I did catch two of those movies I wanted to see.
So here they are:
- Bruno- Why Sacha Baron Cohen WHY?!?! I was so disappointed by this poor movie. Yes, I got the satire and the message but NO LAUGHS!! It was even more disgusting than Borat in certain scenes and I just couldn't look at the screen without throwing up. What it DID do is expose the ridiculous anti-homosexuality that exists in the world but sometimes Bruno just went too far. Plus, it was painfully obvious that a lot of the "unsuspecting victims" were in on the joke and that dampened it's appeal. 3/10
- Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince- Despite everything that's been going around between "purists" (that is, people who believe that movies adapted from novels should stay true to EVERY MINUTE DETAIL) I really liked this movie. I saw it on it's opening night and the cinema was packed which is something that I always like. I even sat in the very front row....THAT is how desperately I wanted to see this movie. Tom Felton (Draco Malfoy) is perhaps the film's most appealing trait. You never really get to see Felton, who's been acting since he was in diapers apparently, let loose his acting chops and steal the screen in the other five movies but in this one, boy does he take Dan Rad and Grint's acting wigs and mop the FLOOR with them. Emma Watson was only slightly better in this movie, at least she didn't hyperventilate half as much. Jim Broadbent as Professor Slughorn was good as usual and Gambon FINALLY NAILED IT as Dumbledore...just as the character has to *beep* (c'mon...you know what happens ;]). Props to Dan Rad's acting whilst Harry is under the influence of "Felix Felicis" that was actually really funny. Also, I didn't know that Dame Maggie Smith was receiving treatment for breast cancer at the same time she was filming this movie and that just goes to show how amazing she really is. Get Well Soon Maggie =]. Bonnie Wright as Ginny Weasley pissed me off. I'm not Ginny's biggest fan but she DID have a bit more fervour in her than this drivel Wright drooled out. The fact that her voice was deeper than Harry's also bothered me. Helena Bonham Carter was fantastic as usual. No appearance of Raph Fiennes as Voldemort in this one but Alan Rickman (Snape) fills the void of evil-son-of-a-bitch enough for this movie. Jessie Cave as Lavender was so over-the-top she was perfect and the always perfect and loveable Evanna Lynch was perfect and loveable as Luna Lovegood. The films biggest flaws were the amount of time spent on the romantic spectre on the novel and the lack of time spent on the battle scene which was extremely anti-climactic and disappointing. However, when Dumbledore *beep* I cried so hard the guy next to me gave me a funyn look. The "purists" need to remember that the movies are not made for them and them only, this was a great movie, one of the best of the series so far. 7.5/10
So there you have it =]
Coming up for me:
- Drag Me to Hell- This has been out for a while and I wanna see it SO BADLY!!
- Orphan- Hollywood's been spitting out some pretty satisfactory horror movies this year (NOT counting Friday the 13th and My Bloody Valentine 3D)
- The Ugly Truth- What can I say? I sorta have a soft spot for movies like this =]
- Public Enemies- Heard mixed comments about this...but Johnny Depp and Christian Bale in ONE MOVIE?!?!? SIGN ME UP!!
- Inglorious Basterds- Nazis and Brad Pitt? should be quite interesting.
- Capitalism: A Love Story- Michael Moore goes and does it again. Bless him.
- Cloudy, With a Chance of Meatballs- Eagerly awaiting this xD -teehee-
- Jennifer's Body- I think I can stand Megan Fox for this one.
- Fame- I WANNA LIVE FOREVER! I WANNA LEARN HOW TO FLY...HIGH!!!!
- Disney's A Christmas Carol- Let's hope Disney doesn't fuck this up for me
- 2012- OoOoOoOo Judgement Day/Apocalypse/End of the world story....a guilty pleasure
- The Princess and the Frog- Is anybody else excited that there is FINALLY A BLACK ANIMATED DISNEY LEAD/PRINCESS?!? and also that this is a CARTOON!!?!?!?
- Sherlock Holmes- Good work Guy Ritchie (y) *mutters* for once.
- Tim Burton's Alice in Wonderland- There can be no wrong if Tim Burton is directing.
- Nightmare on Elm Street- WOO FOR A REMAKE THAT ACTUALLY LOOKS GOOD! Please don't stuff this up!
- Iron Man 2- Promo pics look awesome!! I just love superheroes xD
- Shrek Forever After- Despite them stuffing up the third one...I still love Shrek.
- Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time- Come on...who DIDN'T play this game when it was still pixelated and only on computer? eh? eh?
- Kung Fu Kid- this is supposed to be kind of like a Karate Kid remake but with Jackie Chan, Will Smith's son, Jayden, and KUNG FU instead of KARATE. should be cool though =]
- Toy Story 3- COME ON! It's TOY STORY!!!!!!
- The Last Airbender- I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE the cartoon this is based off of!!! DON'T MESS IT UP M. NYGHT OR I WILL HUNT YOU DOWN AND MAKE YOU EAT ALL YOUR PREVIOUS MOVIES WITHOUT BLENDING THEM!!!! Trailer looks good though =]
- Priest- WOO vampire movie that DOESN'T suck >.>
- Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1- SO. FREAKING. EXCITED. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH kinda late next year though lmao xD
- The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Trader- YAY BEN BARNES! oh yeah and yay it's a timeless children's classic novel.
- 21 Jump Street Movie- hehehe.
- Anchorman 2- YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEES
- Spider Man 4 (this is going into 2011 guys haha)- Even though the third one SUCKED MAJOR i still wanna see this
- The Hangover 2- YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY
- Kung Fu Panda: The Kaboom of Doom- one word: skadoosh.
- Transformers 3- Yeah I'll see it...why not?
- Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2- It makes me sad to think that, after this movie, that'll be it for the Harry Potter series...and probably a lot of the child actors as well...yikes.
- I Am Legend 2- the only problem with this that i have is that...he died...didn't he?
- Pirates of the Caribbean 4- FUCK. YES.
- Terminator 5- i hope this isn't too brainless though.
So there you have THAT!
Went a bit far into the future with that xD
BUT I WILL STAY TRUE AND WATCH ALL OF THESE I PROMISE!!!